Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Punch Drunk Love (2002) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Punch Drunk Love (2002) DVD from AmazonBuy Punch Drunk Love (2002) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Camper 04/06/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

So yeah. This was a strange one. I thought it was going to be your typical romantic comedy judging on the cover alone but I was very mistaken. I suppose it was good, in its own way but I doubt I'll ever rent it again. The background noises were extremely unsettling, I'm pretty sure the entire movie was meant to just make you uncomfortable and it worked.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 06/11/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

The story here is basic, lonely guy meets girl and love ensues. It's the presentation, offbeat areas of humor and characters that makes this film much more interesting. Sandler surprises with a performance that is both hostile and sweet.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 05/07/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Though not as hardhitting as Magnolia or There Will Be Love, I still love PT Anderson and the way he is able to plumb the depths of the human experience through dark comedy and visceral performances. Adam Sandler gives his (only?) and best dramatic performance and knocks it out of the park. Weird and unsettling, but worthwhile.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Armando Sanchez 01/26/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Paul Thomas Anderson is quickly proveing to me that hes truly a great filmmkaer.after watching "hard eight",i knew i had to see this film.I must say,this film was great.the directing style,the acting,the dialogue,the pacing,everything about this film was more than perfect,it was an experience.Adam Sandler gives the performance of his life,he was excellent.Paul Thomas Anderson is great and powerful with this directing.the film was shot beautifully and goregously.I loved this film.i'll be definetaly be buying Thomas Anderson's other films " magnolia" and "boogi nights".

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 10/06/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

If you haven't seen any other P.T. Anderson work, this is the one to start with for the sole reason that it is his worst. I saw "Magnolia" and "Boogie Nights" prior to this and therefore found this one lacking in a lot of places that Anderson hadn't yet developed. Sure, he had his acting and dialogue formations down pat, but his way of tying in all of his elements didn't really come about til "Boogie Nights" and then were mastered in "Magnolia." However, "Punch-Drunk Love" was a masterpiece of dramedy by one of the foremost cinematic visionaries this century.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mm4jmoeller 08/17/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Sandler is very good in this. I feel like PT is just trying to show how artistic and visionary he can be. He does a good job with Sandler's character but more depth in his surroundings and memorable and quirky dialogue would have helped blend the plot and the style. The pudding subplot does a good job of that but this is less of a story and more of an artistic thought. But a good artistic thought with not enough depth. I always have to give kudos to a romantic comedy that isn't formulaic and this is the furthest thing imaginable from formulaic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Scottathon 03/29/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

PT Anderson is brilliant. Aside from the stupid laughs from Billy Madison, this is the only worthwhile film that Adam Sandler has ever done.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/22/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

There Will Be Punch...a movie that's too weird for its own good. You liked it? Good. Too bad I can't say the same thing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 08/02/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Not typical Sandler, that's for sure. Sandler is excellent, what I have a problem with is the story. I didn't like it at all. Other than the interesting bit with the pudding, I thought it was a muddled mess. Too slow and depressing for me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 06/26/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Surprisingly this could be Sandler's best acting gig ever. He does a really good job playing a man that has mental issues. It is actually a sweet story once the director gets down to it - it can be funny, too. Sandler fans may be let down.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
My Blu Ray Collection by Yojimbo
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Top Sci-Fi Movies by Nolane
To See: 2018 Movies by Alex
Movies of 2014 by Stoney McStonerson
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
My Wish List by hoods_breath
movies of 2008 by skater4159

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy